T20 World Cup 2024: New Zealand faces West Indies in digital knockout, rain threatens to derail England


Gazing early elimination, New Zealand will look to dish out a much-improved present in a do-or-die conflict towards event co-host West Indies within the T20 World Cup.

New Zealand suffered a batting collapse to be bowled out for 75 in 15.2 overs in a surprising 84-run loss to Afghanistan in its tournament-opener on the Windfall Stadium.

This loss dropped its run fee to -4.2, the bottom among the many 4 groups in Group D, inserting them on the backside of the standings.

Now, it finds itself getting ready to a uncommon group stage exit – an surprising predicament for a crew identified for its exceptional consistency in World Cups, having reached the semifinals in all six latest editions: the ODI World Cups of 2015, 2019, and 2023, and the T20 World Cups of 2016, 2021, and 2022.

Solely two of its batters managed to attain double digits and the Kane Williamson-led aspect should buck up as a batting unit to pose any problem to the native favourites.

It’s not simply the batting, its fielding additionally put the crew down because it dropped straightforward possibilities, missed stumping and run-out because the Afghanistan opening duo of Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Ibrahim Zadran set it up with a strong 103-run opening stand.

West Indies then again faces no such points as a Tremendous Eight berth might be up for grabs if it manages to safe a 3rd win on the trot.

Having began off with a scrappy win over Papua New Guinea, West Indies has began to come back by itself and coasted to a 134-run victory after bowling out Uganda for 39 in its earlier match.


West Indies: Rovman Powell (c), Brandon King, Johnson Charles, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Sherfane Rutherford, Andre Russell, Romario Shepherd, Roston Chase, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Obed McCoy, Shamar Joseph, Shimron Hetmyer and Shai Hope.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wk), Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, James Neesham and Rachin Ravindra.

Match begins: 6am IST.

Bangladesh, Netherlands hope to remain alive

Bangladesh and the Netherlands will look to maintain their Tremendous Eight hopes alive after they lock horns in a vital Group D fixture at Kingstown.

Within the group of demise, South Africa has already made the minimize and the struggle is among the many Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal and Sri Lanka – in that order – to e-book the second slot.

Having began off with a two-wicket win over Sri Lanka, a nervy Bangladesh let it slip towards South Africa to go down by 4 runs in its final match.

The Netherlands, too, is coming off a reversal towards South Africa and can hope to bounce again.


Bangladesh: Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Taskin Ahmed, Litton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Shakib Al Hasan, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmud Ullah Riyad, Jaker Ali Anik, Tanvir Islam, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam and Tanzim Hasan Sakib.

Netherlands: Scott Edwards (c), Aryan Dutt, Bas de Leede, Kyle Klein, Logan van Beek, Max O’Dowd, Michael Levitt, Paul van Meekeren, Ryan Klein, Saqib Zulfiqar, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Teja Nidamanuru, ⁠⁠Tim Pringle, Vikram Singh, Viv Kingma and Wesley Barresi.

Match begins: 8pm IST

Rain risk for England vs Oman

Rain forecast has as soon as once more threatened to derail defending champion England who is also on the verge of an early exit and can face Oman in first of its two should wins matches at North Sound.

England, who has only one level from two matches after a washout towards Scotland, will face Namibia in its last group league conflict on the similar venue. There was a rain forecast and Jos Buttler’s males can have a watch on the sky.

Wins in each the matches is probably not sufficient for England as Scotland (5 factors from three matches) is forward of the race.

Scotland might get seven factors by advantage of a win over Australia, and England’s Tremendous Eight hopes might finally relaxation within the fingers of its arch-rival.


England: Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonathan Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Tom Hartley, Will Jacks, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Reece Topley and Mark Wooden.

Oman: Aqib Ilyas (c), Zeeshan Maqsood, Kashyap Prajapati, Pratik Athavale, Ayaan Khan, Shoaib Khan, Mohammad Nadeem, Naseem Khushi, Mehran Khan, Bilal Khan, Rafiullah, Kaleemullah, Fayyaz Butt, Shakeel Ahmad and Khalid Kail.

Match begins: 12.30 am IST (Friday).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here