The Rising Stars Asia Cup 2025 match between India A and Pakistan A was embroiled in controversy concerning Maaz Sadaqat’s doable dismissal, stopping play for about 5 minutes.
Sadaqat skied Suyash Sharma’s opening supply of the tenth over, which was initially caught by Nehal Wadhera within the deep. Wadhera threw the ball again into the sector of play proper earlier than going over the rope, whereas Naman Dhir accomplished the catch.
Nonetheless, the third umpire gave it ‘Not Out’, leaving the Indian contingent visibly sad. There have been extended discussions between the Indian gamers and match officers.
Why was the choice given ‘Not Out’?
The choice of not giving the catch an ‘Out’ may very well be an early utility of the brand new rule change launched by the Marylebone Cricket Membership (MCC).
The up to date 19.5.2 legislation states that any fielder making a second contact with the ball after leaping from past the boundary should land inside the sector of play.
The rule can even apply to relay catches. If a fielder fails to return contained in the enjoying area from exterior earlier than the catch is accomplished — even when by one other participant — it will likely be referred to as a boundary.
In keeping with a word circulated to member boards by the ICC, “MCC has devised a brand new wording the place the ‘bunny hop’ wholly past the boundary is eliminated, however these catches the place the fielder pushes the ball up from contained in the boundary, steps exterior after which dives again in to catch the ball, are permitted.”
“Our answer has been to restrict any fielder who has gone exterior the boundary to touching the ball whereas airborne solely as soon as, after which, having carried out so, to be wholly grounded throughout the boundary for the remainder of the length of that supply.”
Within the present match’s context, since Wadhera didn’t return throughout the area of play, when Dhir accomplished the catch, the third umpire dominated in favour of the batter.
Printed on Nov 16, 2025
